Blackmail Boyfriend By Chris Cannon [Review]

RELEASE DATE: Aug 11, 2015
AUTHOR: Chris Cannon
GENRE: 
Young-Adult, Contemporary,   Romance.       
PUBLISHER:
Entangled Publishing: Crush
SUMMARY: Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has…

Haley Patterson has had a crush on golden boy Bryce Colton for ages. But when she hears a rumor that he hooked up with her she gives him a choice: be her boyfriend for a month to show other guys that she’s dateable—despite her overprotective and very intimidating brothers—or deal with the angry, cage-fighting boyfriend of the girl he actually did hook up with.

Bryce didn’t know the other Haley even had a boyfriend. He was just trying to get his ex off his back. And now, not only is he being blackmailed, he’s being blackmailed by an honor student. His new “girlfriend” has two three-legged dogs, her father mows grass at the country club, and she’s…well, difficult. And different.

Can something so fake turn into something real?

add to goodreadsbook and ink

MY REVIEW:
Blackmail Boyfriend is a cute and fluffy romantic read. Even though how cliched the concept may sound, it was so entertaining. Although I had some problems with the actions of protagonists in it, I’d really liked it. I love reading books published by Entangled  crush cause they publish cute romantic reads with adorable characters and when I first read the blurb of this book I couldn’t help myself and got myself a copy.

Hayley Patterson is undateable girl in her high school due to her overprotective brothers who are physically strong and has don’t mess with us label on their faces. When Rumor spreads that Hayley hooked up with the golden boy Bryce Colton everyone thinks that it’s Hayley patterson but actually it was another girl named Hayley Hoffman who uses her name. When Haley Hoffman’s boyfriend Denny who looks like a wrestler confronts Bryce, Hayley saves him by pretending she was his girlfriend. To resolve both Haley and Bryce’s problem she proposes a deal where he  has to be her fake boyfriend for a few weeks so everyone can think she’s a dateable girl and approachable too. Bryce reluctantly agrees to the deal because it’s either this or beaten to a pulp by Denny.

Haley is sassy, witty, fun girl who was easy to relate to. Though she may be likable character but she did annoyed me with her obsessiveness over Bryce when they are actually in a fake relationship. The thing that made me like her more is her love for animals, she rescues dogs and gives them shelter which is great thing to do. Being a animal lover I really enjoyed whenever Bryce and Hayley visited the shelter. Bryce is arrogant character in this who thinks money is everything and he is also kinda neat freak. It’s really great how Hayley makes him realize that money isn’t everything and there are also other things in the world that brings happiness. At start, Bryce may be a smug character but after meeting Haley he slowly becomes adorable especially with the dogs. Haley and Bryce have hate/love relationship. The thing that irritated me the most was Bryce denying his attraction towards Haley. Another thing that I don’t get it was Haley’s obsession with Bryce, he is her fake boyfriend but she pretty much feels like he is her real boyfriend. The chemistry between them wasn’t amazing as I thought it would be but it was good enough.

The plot may be predictable but it was really sweet with a mix of humor. I’m glad that It was written in both Hayley and Bryce’s POV. The writing style is perfect it was sassy and witty. Both Hayley and Bryce are well written characters for the plot and I also liked the supporting characters Jane and Nathan. Jane is a funny character who is sarcastic and snarky and I liked the friendship between her and Hayley.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading this cute story. This book not only deals with romantic relationships but also family relationships too. The plot is fast paced and there are some twists at the end that was unpredictable. Finally, I can say it was worth a read and I highly recommend this book to everyone who likes to read contemporary romance with cute plots.

 MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars14-stars1[3.5/5 Stars]

Please Feel Free To Comment Below. ❤

See You In The Next Post and Have a Great Day! 🙂
Signature

14 thoughts on “Blackmail Boyfriend By Chris Cannon [Review]

  1. lovingyoochun September 5, 2015 / 2:16 am

    Another book for my tbr list! Damn~
    That was a great review Raven. I didn’t get the plot by reading the synopsis but I got it when I read your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Erika September 5, 2015 / 8:25 am

    I absolutely adored this book. Read it one sitting. As cliche and kind of cheesy it is, it’s a fun, cute read. Am I the only one who thought that Haley forgave Bryce too easily?! The ending felt rushed, too! HAHA

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 5, 2015 / 9:25 pm

      Yeah, I agree with you she shouldn’t have forgave him easily.The break up to make up and the family drama at the end everything happened so fast in a rush.Despite all the flaws it’s entertaining read. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Prima September 5, 2015 / 5:39 pm

    It was a super cute book. The ending just had me fangirling! I love Entangled Crush stories, they’re always just great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 5, 2015 / 9:28 pm

      IKR. I’m looking forward to read another book published by Entangled Crush titled Playing the player and it’s going to be released in sep 14. so, can’t wait to read it too. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Anjie @ Love thy Shelf September 12, 2015 / 3:48 am

    Great review! Glad you liked it! I love how sweet and funny it was. I loved Entangled Crush books! They’re a lot of fun to read. I just read an ARC from them called Finding Perfect, I think you’d like it haha. I loved her brothers, they were so funny haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 September 13, 2015 / 12:45 am

      Thanks for the recommendation Anjie just now I’ve added it to my TBR. It really sounds intriguing and I’m so excited to read it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

