Hello, I Love You: A Novel by Katie M. Stout

RELEASE DATE: June 9th 2015
AUTHOR: Katie M. Stout
GENRE:Young-Adult, Contemporary, Romance.
PUBLISHER: 
St. Martin’s Griffin
SUMMARY:
A teen escapes to a boarding school abroad and falls for a Korean pop star in this fun and fresh romantic novel in the vein of Anna and the French Kiss.

Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.

She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can’t stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can’t deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol.

Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she’ll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.
book and ink

MY REVIEW:
Oh boy! I’ve got mixed feelings for this book I’ve already expected this to be not much exciting after hearing so  many negative reviews about this, but even then I wanted to read it, cause it’s a contemporary romance with a mix of k-pop and myself being a hardcore k-pop fan I couldn’t help myself not reading it.All I can say that it was Ok but it wasn’t great which I’ve already expected but still I hoped.The plot was very unique and interesting but I think it could be executed better and the story was ruined due to the flawed character named Grace.

The character Grace Wilde I don’t how to describe her, she seemed rude and at start I hated her attitude she acted like a  spoiled brat.Grace is the daughter of the famous record producer in America and also the sister of famous celebrity singer Nathan .She escaped from Nashville to Korea to escape from her family,the fame and leave  her painful life so she can have a peaceful life for a while where no reporter could find her or recognize her. She applied for a international boarding school in Korea even though she has no knowledge about the place.She doesn’t have any interest in korean people or their culture she just needed to escape from Nashville wherever it maybe.

At the new school she befriends her roommate named Sophie who’s brother is a famous K-pop Idol named Jason.At start Grace and Jason hated each other so we can say it’s kinda hate and love relationship.Grace is a character you will come to hate, I know she doesn’t have any interest in korea but she didn’t have to compare it with American culture and criticize it which displays the flaws of her character.She wanted to avoid anything related to music but here she helps Jason with his music and not only that she remarks their music that it’s all about pretty faces but nothing to do with the quality of  music which is kinda rude.There was also an issue of her mood swings which was truly annoying and irritating at a high level.

When I first saw the blurb I expected three things from it
1.K-pop music
2.Korean Culture
3.Cute Romance
But the Only thing that I got from this book is the cute romance but the other two  were insufficient and they aren’t well detailed or explained in depth which is a little bit disappointing.

The plot was pretty much slow paced and I think it was dragged a bit that almost made me to skip the pages to the end and be done with it.The best thing was it got interesting supporting characters that I really liked to know especially Yoon Jae and Jane. At the end I felt pity for Grace when I’ve come to know the reason for her trust issues and her mood swings and at last she comes to like korea and K-pop music  but still it didn’t changed my opinion about the book.I was being generous when I gave it a 3 stars  rating otherwise it would be 2 stars from me.Even though I didn’t liked it that much, but  still I recommend it to the readers  who want cute romance having no idea about the korean culture but I highly suggest K-pop lovers to avoid this book.

MY RATING:4-stars14-stars14-stars1

Please feel free to share your thoughts or comments below 🙂

Happy Reading! 🙂

Signature

 

14 thoughts on “Hello, I Love You: A Novel by Katie M. Stout

  1. Warisha Reads June 20, 2015 / 4:23 pm

    I thought this book was going to be good. It’s sad that this book has a racist protagonist.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Summer @ Xingsings June 21, 2015 / 9:31 am

    Okay, so you STARTED WITH A TAEMIN GIF. Then you happen to add KRIS and then JAEJOONG?? AND DONGHAE, YES! Can I just love you? ❤
    Okay, enough fangirling. Onto what I thought about the review: It's perfection. I totally agree, there were a bunch of cute scenes. But why must Grace be so flawed? I get that Korea doesn't come to mind as the best travel destination for most foreigners (for me it is, however) but why must she have chosen Korea the way she did? And then she has an aversion to Korean pop music, which is perfectly okay. But why must she say those comments to Jason? D: And I think the most upsetting thing for me was the fact that everyone in the book proclaimed her to be a great producer when she, in fact, doesn't even play an instrument really. I find that being pretty unrealistic as a musician myself. So it was really Grace's character that threw me off.
    But I seriously need to stop being so negative. You're right. The romance is cute and I actually really liked Jason's role, though he was a bit inconsistent and too passive at moments. Also, the writing is readable and not bad by any means!
    Anyway, fantastic review, Raven! 😀 Despite all this, I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Summer @ Xingsings June 21, 2015 / 9:32 am

      I meant to say “I’m so glad you read this,” I know you didn’t love it. It’s late at night and my mind is failing me. XD And sorry for the long comment, I just had to talk to someone about this!

      Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 June 21, 2015 / 2:56 pm

      I think that’s a long comment in wordpress history ha ha LOL. I agree with you and I was also wondering why didn’t the author put Jane instead of Grace it would be so much better and perfect.You know so many times I wanted to strangle her and shout at her to stop judging and deal with it.I’m happy that she finally comes to like k-pop especially Shinee ❤ *awww* I miss those guys.Anyways I just finished reading "All I've Never Wanted" By Ana Huang, which is based on "hana yori dango" or in korean version "boys over Flowers" I've really liked it you should give it a try.BTW Jang guen suk ❤ and Lee min ho are my top favorite oppas :).

      Liked by 1 person

      • Summer @ Xingsings June 22, 2015 / 9:37 am

        The really sad thing is… I’ve made longer comments. I am not a concise person. At all. LOL.
        WAIT A SECOND. Why haven’t I heard of All I’ve Never Wanted before?? Thanks, I’ll make sure to look into it!
        And Lee Min Ho is my favorite Korean actor. City Hunter had a sucky ending but I loved that drama (and so many others of LMH). And I’ve seen quite a few JGS dramas and really enjoyed them. You have great taste, Raven! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • ravenblake99 June 22, 2015 / 2:40 pm

        Thanks Summer! Yeah, Lee min ho is a great actor I’ve watched every drama of his and I don’t know why there isn’t anymore cute dramas like before the new ones doesn’t interest me much 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Summer @ Xingsings June 23, 2015 / 10:08 am

        Me too! The latest one I saw of his was Heirs, which I think came out a couple of years ago if I’m not mistaken.

        Liked by 1 person

      • ravenblake99 June 23, 2015 / 4:23 pm

        Yep! I’m eagerly waiting for Min ho and Jang Guen suek next dramas and everyday I’ve been online stalking these guys…LOL! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Summer @ Xingsings June 24, 2015 / 5:10 am

        Haha, oh man. I know how that feels. It’s been a while since I’ve watched a drama so I haven’t been keeping up with my fav actor(esses), but I feel like I stalk Exo every day. It doesn’t help that I “blog” on tumblr too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. airareads June 22, 2015 / 11:04 am

    I was so excited about this book, because I’m a huge kpop fan! A lot of the reviews said that the female protagonist did not like kpop and she dissed kpop a lot. That makes me so angry, because kpop idols work SO HARD. Like American artists have nothing on them compared to how hard they work, and how much they sacrifice in order to succeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 June 22, 2015 / 2:59 pm

      Yeah I know 🙂 I was mad that she criticized K-pop and also she didn’t felt any enthusiasm you’ll feel when you are in foreign country and experiencing their culture.K-pop and American artists have their own appeal if she didn’t liked it then it’s ok her loss but she didn’t have to degrade it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

