Inherit the Stars (Inherit the Stars #1) by Tessa Elwood (ARC REVIEW)

RELEASE DATE: December 8th 2015
AUTHOR: Tessa Elwood
GENRE:Young-Adult, Sci-Fi, Fantasy,        Romance.
PUBLISHER:Running Press Kids
SUMMARY:Three royal houses ruling three interplanetary systems are on the brink of collapse, and they must either ally together or tear each other apart in order for their people to survive.

Asa is the youngest daughter of the house of Fane, which has been fighting a devastating food and energy crisis for far too long. She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.

But as Asa and Eagle forge a genuine bond, will secrets from the past and the urgent needs of their people in the present keep them divided?

Author Tessa Elwood’s debut series is an epic romance at heart, set against a mine field of political machinations, space adventure, and deep-seeded family loyalties.

book and ink

MY REVIEW: It’s a good  fast paced Sci-Fi romance book for the young adults and a must for sci-fi addicts. I received this ARC from netgalley in return for providing an honest review. First of all I’d really like to say it’s a wonderful plot and also that I’m very choosy with Sci-fi books and this one peaked my interest with it’s intriguing blurb. After reading this, I can say it’s got a lot of potential but I think it was poorly executed, but its not a total waste of time for me cause I liked reading it, and with right corrections this would make a hit series.

The character Asa is a shy and loyal girl who was easy to get connected but it was hard to get connected with the other characters.What I most liked about Asa is her courage and her love towards her family and how she’ll go to any length to protect them. And Eagle seemed like a quiet guy who always obeys his parents but he’ll be fierce when needed and he always respected Asa and treated her nicely.At start they were kinda awkward with each other and It was truly adorable how their romance bloomed slowly.

I had expected Space adventures like you’ll find in Star Wars, but I’m a bit disappointed that I didn’t find any thing like that in it, cause there isn’t not much of action in it.What made me engaged to this book was the conspiracy going on within the three houses and some little twists that will make you glued to it.

There is also a little bit problem in the narrative skills cause  sometimes I couldn’t understand who’s talking and who’s  not, so I had to re-read the whole conversation again. I’ve read lots of Sci-fi novels and they aren’t hard to understand but this one gave me hard time to understand the whole technology, which sometimes made me scratch my head and frustrated the hell out of me.Even though there are so many flaws in it I’ve enjoyed reading  Asa and Eagle, and their development of feelings towards each other  is the best thing in this book that I’ve liked the most.

Before reading this I was excited to know the world the author has build  which sounded fascinating in the blurb but  it was very much upsetting to know that it hugely lacked in world building with weak background story.I truly hope the sequel would be much much better than this with more action and get to have more exploration of the three interplanetary systems.Overall I don’t hate this book so I would continue with this series.This book may seem gibberish to the newbie sci-Fi readers so I wouldn’t recommend it to them, but I would definitely recommend it to Sci-Fi addicts who are into Sci-Fi romance.

MY RATING: 4-stars14-stars14-stars1

Please Feel Free to comment below. 🙂

Have a nice day and Happy Reading!  See you in the next post 🙂

Signature

 

2 thoughts on “Inherit the Stars (Inherit the Stars #1) by Tessa Elwood (ARC REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

