Amber Smoke (The Escaped #1) by Kristin Cast (ARC Review)

RELEASE DATE: June 9th 2015
AUTHOR:Kristin Cast
GENRE: Young-Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal,Mythology.
PUBLISHER: Diversion Books
SUMMARY: There is a world that runs parallel to our own, a world in which the souls of the damned are caged, where they are looked over by the Furies, and where they spend eternity in torment, mirroring the devastation and mayhem they created when alive.

Someone has opened the cage.

The worst of terrors has crossed the barrier that separates our world from theirs, and the Furies send a great, albeit untested warrior—their only son, Alek—to try to bring those souls back. He is young and handsome, headstrong and impulsive, and he won’t be able to do it alone. 

Eva has grown up, beautiful and beloved, but surrounded by secrets. First, she will be hunted in an ancient feud that will threaten her life. Then, she will become the hunter.

book and ink

MY REVIEW:I Received this ARC in exchange for an Honest Review. Firstly I’d like to  thank the Netgalley and the publisher for providing me an ARC. I’m a fan of House of Night series so when I heard that there will be a new series from Kristin Cast I was totally excited. The cover and the synopsis were actually  the two things that drew me in and I really hoped that I’d like it, because it was  written by none other than the co-author of the House of Night Series.

       I can’t say that I really enjoyed it as much as I hoped but I really liked the plot. I’m not disappointed but I think it could be much better.while reading this book I felt that I was reading some kind of fantasy thriller. I think it was missing the mystery and excitement that was found in her previous series.

The Characters Eva and Alek are both perfect and I don’t know why, but I liked Eva’s friend Bridget more than Eva.The Character Alek seemed innocent and I expected him to be more like a warrior type and rough.There was another thing that me made me felt frustrated because half of the completed but Alek and Eva still didn’t meet each other. Well coming to the multiple POV some of them may like it but I didn’t, because it made  some parts in the story predictable and I like plots that brings surprises with each passing step.

It was really an interesting plot and moreover it was related to the furies from the greek mythology, most of the story takes place in the current modern world.Eva is a 23 year old college going girl who didn’t have a clue about the supernatural world.She wasn’t even aware that she was the next oracle and also the descendant of pythia. Alek son of the three furies was given a task by his mothers to protect the oracle and unite with her to awaken her powers in order to save both tartarus and the living world. With  Alek and Eva united the tartarus can be restored or else all the evil souls caged in tartarus will be freed and they’ll bring total chaos to the mortal Realm.

It was  funny how Alek was pretty much new to some earthly things. The first book mostly focused on the murders and  their struggles with the detectives. I think it got more interesting at the last part and after that, I started to like it more. There was not much of a romance though because there was less interaction between them and I felt the feelings  between these two are insufficient and it didn’t portrayed well.

The plot really got a potential and I think it could make a great series.The writing style and the characters as usual are good but I felt some slight problem in the structure of the plot.All the intense action  provided at the end of the book and also the cliffhanger made it more interesting to continue this series, and I’m hoping the next installment would be much better. So, yes I’ll definitely look forward to the next in the series.

MY RATING:   4-stars14-stars14-stars1

9 thoughts on “Amber Smoke (The Escaped #1) by Kristin Cast (ARC Review)

  1. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books June 1, 2015 / 5:30 pm

    OMG OMG you already read this one, damn you lucky girl! I’m a huge fan of the HoN series as well and I’ve waiting for this book ever since I heard about it. Haa, your liking of Eva’s friend more reminded me, I liked Stevie Rae more than Zoe in HoN. 🙂 Great review btw.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 June 1, 2015 / 5:43 pm

      Thank You! Yeah it was such a long time since I’ve read HON series and this one looked promising but I must warn you don’t Set Your Expectations Too High with this because it was totally different from the HON series. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books June 1, 2015 / 5:46 pm

        I understood that after reading your review, still I can’t wait to get my copy!

        Liked by 1 person

      • ravenblake99 June 1, 2015 / 5:49 pm

        Good luck with that may be you’ll like it more than me 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Josephine June 2, 2015 / 5:16 am

    I’m also a huge fan for the House of Night series! This book is one I am highly anticipating so it’s great to see your thoughts on it. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • ravenblake99 June 2, 2015 / 9:05 am

      Yeah! Me too waited for this book for a while.I miss those days when I’ve read the HON series and I really miss the characters especially zoey, may be it’s called booksickness LOL 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Josephine June 2, 2015 / 11:45 am

        Yes I miss the days of the HON reading. I don’t know if it’s just me or not but I fell in love with Stark. He’s one of my book boyfriends! 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      • ravenblake99 June 2, 2015 / 1:12 pm

        I like him too! (^_^) He was a charming guy with his archery skills ❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

